The student, the budget and the wardrobe

By Alexandra Fulton

Much to my disbelief, it seems as if I didn’t give a few guys on campus enough advice about fashion in the last issue. Trust me, I was shocked too. I could not believe that a few people approached and actually wanted more details…where do I find these fashion must-haves, what do I wear when I want to dress like a bum (I thought I knocked this one out of the park), and where do you get your sources?

 

The first two question I can answer, easy. The third one, not so much. I can honestly say that I don’t have too much first-hand experience with men’s fashion. If it counts for anything I’m my dad’s personal stylist and he’s quite fashionable, if I do say so myself. Other than that, I guess I can say I’m observant. I keep a watchful eye on the way students dress around campus. I have to, or else what would I write about? So thank you for keeping me on my toes and wearing mostly questionable outfits. If you’re one of those people that try at least a little when you are getting dressed in the morning, I applaud you. Thanks for making me a little hopeful about the fate of fashion on SAU’s campus.

 

So, I’ll tackle the second question first. You want to dress like a bum? First things first, you should never want to look like a bum. Your clothes are the first thing people see when they look at you. You should want to look presentable, if not for yourself out of courtesy for people around you.  Yes, sweatpants are comfortable. But until I’m proven wrong by an awesome new spring line that features you wearing SAU navy blue sweatpants, leave them at home.

 

But, I’ll be nice. If you are having a lazy morning and you want to be comfortable at class, try wearing your sweatpants with a nice half-zip. It will make it look more like an outfit and less like pajamas.

 

And now for the first question, my personal favorite. I’m going to refer back to my original list from last week and give you a few options on where you can buy a few of my so-called men’s fashion must-haves.

 

Be on the look out for a Banana Republic Factory Outlet and a Gap outlet store opening in the Elmore Marketplace in the next few weeks [hopefully]. Coincidentally enough, you will find an Old Navy a few blocks from there.

 

 

A white or blue oxford

Splurge: Banana Republic $69

Spend: Gap $49.95

Save: Old Navy $29

 

Dark Jeans

Splurge: Banana Republic $79

Spend: Gap $59

Save: Old Navy $29

 

A black or navy sweater (on sale now)

Splurge: Banana Republic $69

Spend: Gap $39

Save: Old Navy $19

 

And for what might be the last time, style on men of SAU.

Leave a Reply

