Person on the street: Should SAU security carry guns?

 

Compiled by Darci Fosdyck

 

“I would say yes, but not because of the interior of the campus. It would be because of the outside neighborhoods bordering because they can get kind of seedy. But I would say no from a stand point of like manning the doors. There is no reason to have a gun for students, because students are not generally going to be carrying guns with them or anything like that. But maybe something like tasers or mace.”

Joey O’Brien – Freshman – Business

 

“It’s not necessary. If matters get to that, then Davenport police should be called. But I don’t think that it is necessary that they carry guns.”

Nick Koerner – Senior – Exercise Science

 

“I think it is one of those things that is up to the individual if they feel comfortable carrying one. It is more or less like a precautionary thing that is obviously more than acceptable. Also, we do have the right to carry concealed weapons. I personally do not mind if they carry one, but other students might feel iffy about it. But overall I don’t think it would be a bad idea to have one just in case.”

Celeste Raya – Junior – Elementary Education

 

“Yes, because I think the only thing that the only thing that stops a bad guy with a gun is a good guy with a gun, assuming ,of course, that the guy is trained.”

Elsie Lyons – Freshman – English

 

“I would almost have to go with no because I haven’t heard of any instances where they can’t defend without. I don’t consider the St. Ambrose campus to be a very dangerous place, which is one of the reasons I decided to go here. I don’t think they are necessary or that they have ever been necessary.”

Kelly Schloss – Senior – English

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a comment