POS: Person on the Street

By Tyler Mitchell and Emilee Renwick

 

Should the Boston Marathon bomber be put to death?

 

Ty Balduf
Ty Balduf

“I don’t believe he should be put to death. Just looking at it from a Catholic perspective, I think everyone should have the chance to try and make up for their wrongdoings however unlikely it is that he would actually do so. I think he should have the chance to try to become a better person in prison obviously.”

Ty Balduf – Sophomore – Marketing and Mathematics – Algonquin, Ill.

 

Tim Martinez
Tim Martinez

“I think the death penalty is right, especially if that is the state’s policy. And I have family members who run marathons myself. So if I were to have a family member get killed, that would be devastating. So I definitely think the death penalty is the way to go.”

Tim Martinez – Junior – Radio/TV Production – Bettendorf, IA

 

Tori Zlomic
Tori Zlomic

“Yeah, I think he should since he was the cause of all the chaos. He kind of had it coming since people died.”

Tori Zlomic – Freshman – Pre-med Chemistry – Wilmington, IL

 

Hannah Zinger
Hannah Zinger

“I do. I don’t believe in keeping people in prison for a long period of time. I think it’s more of a waste of money and I do believe in the death penalty. I feel like for what he did, he should be put to death.”

Hannah Zinger – Sophomore – Nursing – Davenport, IA

 

Kayla Kuffel
Kayla Kuffel

“I don’t think so. It’s probably an unpopular opinion. I just don’t believe in the death penalty. I mean I know he obviously killed other people, but I don’t believe people have the right to take away life regardless of what that person has done.”

Kayla Kuffel – Sophomore – English – Kewanee, Ill.

Leave a Reply

