Madormo marketing for Nickelodeon

By Mary Madormo – Staff Writer

Madormo has a marketing job with Nickelodeon. She was the 2012-13 news editor for The Buzz.
Madormo has a marketing job with Nickelodeon. She was the 2012-13 news editor for The Buzz.

A year ago I was sitting in Hagen, writing articles for The Buzz, and debating with my roommates if we should head to Cosgrove for dinner or order pizza. I could have never predicted where I would be a year later; sitting in my tiny New York apartment, setting out my clothes for work tomorrow, and writing yet another article for The Buzz.

The past eight months since graduation have flown by and landed me in the Big Apple with a marketing job at Nickelodeon. It has been an amazing experience to say the least.

My main task at work is to think like a kid. I get to witness all that goes into starting up a show and keeping it on air. I work specifically on SpongeBob Squarepants and Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles, writing for the shows’ social pages.

My favorite part of the job is helping with fan engagement—figuring out how we can keep fans coming back each week for new episodes. I love having the chance to speak with fans to find out what they love about the shows, and I have been lucky enough to travel to L.A. for a fan convention.

The job isn’t always easy, and work hours can be long, but I think it’s a fair trade for being able to have these opportunities.

Even though I have adjusted to a new city and work life, some days I still can’t believe this is my life. I see the Empire State Building from my window at work. My weekend run is through Central Park. I’m convinced I never ate a “real” bagel until I ordered one in New York. This city is full of new possibilities…and delicious food…every day.

I am thankful for where I am, and a big thanks goes to St. Ambrose. It’s a place where we make friends who will always be there for us and have teachers who are dedicated to helping us create promising futures.

I can’t even tell you how many times my roommates had to listen to me complain about applying for internships, or I went to my professors’ offices to give them updates on all of my applications. And yet, they put up with me and continued to encourage me. It’s amazing how it helps just to know you have people in your corner.

So what’s next? I will keep watching Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles and SpongeBob every day at work. I will make a shameless plug and also ask you to consider watching these shows every day—we all need a cartoon break, right?

If I have learned anything, it is that I can’t predict what will happen next. I just have to work hard and enjoy where I am in this moment. I miss the Midwest, Ambrose, my friends and family, but I am happy with where I am right now.

And I hope some Ambrose alumni will soon join me out here on the East Coast. Some of my co-workers think Chicago is farmland…I need some Midwesterners out here ASAP.

Leave a Reply

