Beeswax: Alison DeVilder, Rohlman and McCarthy Hall Director

By Darci Fosdyck

What brought you to St. Ambrose?

I was looking for a job in residence life and I am from East Moline. I knew that I wanted to come back after being away for four years. I lived in Neb., at Wayne State College, where I did my undergrad, so I knew I wanted to come back from the small town and back to the Quad-Cities and see my siblings go through high school. I wanted to continue in student affairs, so this was the perfect opportunity, and St. Ambrose aligned with what I was looking for.

What is your education background?

I got my undergrad in Elementary Education and Counseling at Wayne State College in Neb. I did four years there, and then I did a semester of student teaching here in the Quad-Cities at Jane Addams Elementary.

 

What does your job entail?

I like to say that I wear many hats. I am in charge of Rohlman and McCarthy halls, which house roughly 315 students. I am in charge of the day to day operations within the residence hall, along with supervising 12 student staff members. My biggest role is to educate them on making good choices and being responsible, and then getting to know the students, having fun and making sure they are enjoying their time here at St. Ambrose. I want them to have a great experience here, but I also want them to succeed.

Do you have any specific goal while you are here at SAU?

I think the biggest goal I have right now would be to work with the sophomore experience. The sophomore year is something that the institution is more looking to move towards, to make sure we have a sophomore experience like we do with the freshmen experience. I also want to work with some other colleagues to get a resident hall association, and that would be the governing body of the residence halls, which would allow students to have a say in what goes on in the halls.

What do you do in your free time?

I love reading books and watching Survivor and Parks and Recreation. Other than that, I find myself shopping a lot. Then I just hang out with the residents, RA’s and go to programs.

Leave a comment