The student, the budget and the wardrobe

The time has finally come. Fall weather is here. Crisp days and chilly nights call for a new fall wardrobe. As a college student, it’s impossible to fill your closet with all new fall pieces, but hopefully there is room in your not-so-walk-in closet for a few of the essentials.

The three new additions to my wardrobe and the pieces getting the most action this season are my Superga kicks, Gap cable knit sweater and my Gap camouflage jacket (previously featured because it’s just that great).

These three pieces can be dressed up or down, and either way, they are sure to be staples in your daily wardrobe this fall.

So, how did I style my new fall favorites?

Going to class

To keep it comfortable and casual for an early Monday morning I reach for my new go-to shoe, my Supergas. On top I opted for a cozy crew neck sweatshirt and a chambray shirt. To keep the comfortable trend going I threw on a pair of black jeans. Mine are from Zara and can be found year-round at a great price of $39. In the Quad Cities you can find Supergas at Von Maur. Great alternatives are Converse or Vans.

Saturday afternoon

I used to waste my Saturday afternoons on the couch being lazy. Then, I was introduced to the Davenport Farmer’s Market. It’s my very own slice of heaven in Davenport. Seriously. They have handmade soaps, fresh vegetables and tons of super stylish people walking around that makes for great people watching. The farmer’s market is right on the river, so a sweater seems necessary. I paired my Gap cable knit sweater with an emerald green statement necklace, jeans and booties. For days when the temperature is a little colder be prepared and bring a scarf to add warmth and color.

A Saturday night out

I’ve worn my camouflage jacket out on several occasions and every time someone comments on it. Either I just got back from basic training or I blend in with my surroundings. Sticks and stones, am I right? Regardless of these shallow comments I still wear my jacket any chance I get. For this outfit I wore my gap camouflage with a graphic tee, an a-line leather skirt and gold ankle-strap sandals.

Style on, SAU.

Leave a Reply

