Person on the Street

 

How do you feel about the NSA spying on your phone calls, text messages, e-mail, social media and other personal information?

 

Hannah Blaser

“After the terrorist attack of 2001, I can understand the NSA feeling the need to tap into certain communications that might have been going on throughout the country, but I don’t believe that they have the right to do it without judicical approval. I think they violated our Fourth Amendment right and I think they are still continuing to do so by holding and retaining our personal property.”

-Hannah Blaser

 

Ruth Morency

“Honestly, I think they have been doing it, but now everybody knows that it is going on. I cannot say that we have privacy anymore. You know anything you do on the Internet is available to anyone, and now anything you do on your phones is going to be available to anybody. I don’t know where it is going to go, but you just don’t feel safe anymore.”

-Ruth Morency

 

 

Tammy Mack

“I remember hearing about the United States government spying on citizens shortly after the terrorist attacks in 2001. At the time, I think Americans were more concerned with capturing any and all individuals connected to the event, that most citizens, myself included, did not take the suspicions of government spying too personally. Now that I have had time to think about what the government is doing, it appalls me that they were, and apparently still are, so willing to take away our Fourth Amendment rights. I find it hard to believe that more people are not protesting this violation of our liberty.”

-Tammy Mack

 

 

Kenny Epping

“I believe that it is an invasion of privacy and the people who did report it were in the right. But yeah I think it is wrong, without letting us know first, like, “this is something we can be doing.” The way we found out is just a terrible way to find out.”

-Kenny Epping

 

 

Alexis Schau

“Why don’t they do it on suspected people? I don’t get why they’re doing it on us, like texting my friends “LOL.” I think it is ridiculous and I think it is just pointless.”

-Alexis Schau

 

 

Emily Smith

“I would say that I am definitely not OK with it, because one of our previous presidents was almost impeached for digging up some information about somebody. Why would it be OK for our current president or current government to tap lots of phones and listen to other people’s information?”

-Emily Smith

Leave a Reply

