Person on the Street

Where were you and what were you doing when 9/11 happened 12 years ago?

Kevin Jameson

“I was in fourth grade, and I remember being at home when the first plane hit. Then I remember being in school when the second one hit. They didn’t really explain to us what was going on, so we had no idea what to do.”

Kevin Jameson – Senior – Marketing – Naperville, IL

Hannah Zions

“First, we were in the classroom and watched everything on TV. Then we went outside and the teachers and principal made us practice what we would do in case something were to happen at school.”

Hannah Zions – Junior – Nursing – Chicago, IL

Megan Willard

“I didn’t go to school yet because it was in the morning, so  I was sitting on the couch watching TV with my mom and she was doing my hair. I had absolutely no idea what was going on.”

Megan Willard – Junior – Secondary Education and History – Plainfield, IL

“I was sleeping and my mom said that school was cancelled because we lived in Arizona, and we were three or four hours behind on west coast time.”

David Farley – Senior – Marketing – West Des Moines, Iowa

Liz Finerty

“I was in class as a second grader. They didn’t tell us what was going on until we got home. We got a letter to our parents.”

Liz Finerty – Sophomore – Forensic Psychology – Peoria, IL

Matt Correthers

“I was in my third grade class watching a movie and the TV cut off. They put up all the footage from the planes crashing.”

Matt Correthers – Junior – Psychology – Rock Island, IL

Leave a Reply

