Beeswax: Brett Billman, Assistant Professor of Communication

Brett Billman

What does your position entail?

Mostly teaching, committee work and researching so far.

What classes are you teaching?

I’m teaching Principles of Public Relations, Principles of Oral Communication, Business Ethics and Business Communication and Finance Ethics classes.

Where are you from originally?

I’m from Cedar Falls, IA. I got my bachelor’s degree and master’s degree at the University of Northern Iowa and my doctorate in Communication and Culture at Bowling Green State University in Northwest Ohio.

What are your goals for this position?

My goals are to help strengthen the communication department’s already strong curriculum. I want to try to help incorporate social media, especially for PR and strategic communication majors. I also like to teach and research on issues of diversity whether its gender, sexual orientation, or culture. I was in China for six weeks this summer. I would like to infuse more of that in the curriculum, as well. Those would be my long term goals.

What are you passionate about?

Education. I think education can solve all of our American problems, but also all of our world problems. I think that we all need to learn to be better communicators. I am very passionate about instances of diversity. I have done a lot of work on helping to stop gender violence on campuses. I’ve also done work on race and sexual orientation for different programs on campuses.

Leave a Reply

