Beeswax with Assistant Professor of Philosophy Tanya Randle

Tanya Randle beeswaxWhere is your hometown and what’s your education background?

I grew up in Flagstaff, Ariz. For my undergraduate I attended Northern Arizona University in Flagstaff, and I got my degree in philosophy and psychology. I received my Masters and Ph.D. in philosophy from Emory University in Atlanta, Ga.

How did you end up here and what were your jobs prior to coming to SAU?

I taught philosophy at St. Norbert College in De Pere, Wis. I taught there for three years, while I filled in for another professor. I was looking for jobs while I was there, and I applied for the job at SAU.

Explain your job title and some of your duties.

I’m an assistant professor of philosophy. I teach a lot of the required philosophy classes. They are almost completely full of students who are just required to be there.

What do you like best about SAU?

I really like my colleagues. They have all been very welcoming and good to talk to.


What are your goals to accomplish in your new position?

I would like to see a stronger philosophy major. I would like to see more students majoring in philosophy, not just fulfilling a requirement. I’d like to see a philosophy club. For myself personally, I’d like to publish journal articles.

Tell us about your family.

I have a husband and we’ve been married for seven and a half years. We have one cat and a dog.

Hobbies and interests.

My biggest hobby is martial arts, specifically Tai Kwon Do. I’ve been doing that since I was 18, on and off for 12 years.

What do you like best about Tai Kwon Do?

I like the way that the mind and body become one when you’re into it. I also like that it’s a way of getting exercise but also is useful in other ways. I also like that there’s people to push you to work harder, but it isn’t competitive.

Advice for students?

Even if you’re in a class that you don’t like, you should still try and find something valuable that you can learn from it, and that goes for all of your classes.

Leave a Reply

