Beeswax

Assistant Kinesiology professor Dr. Monica Taylor. Photo by Laura Whitting

Assistant Kinesiology professor Dr. Monica Taylor. Photo by Laura Whitting

Beeswax with Dr. Monica Taylor, Assistant Professor of Kinesiology

Where is your hometown and what’s your education background?

My hometown is in Wilmington, Del. I went to the University of Maine for my undergrad and I studied Kinesiology. I then went to East Stroudsberg University for my Masters in Clinical Exercise Physiology. I attended the University of Pittsburg for my Doctorate in Exercise Physiology.

How did you end up here and what were your jobs prior to coming to SAU?

This is my first full-time professor job. I just graduated with my PhD last year. My husband and I wanted to go somewhere new, and we had done a lot on the East Coast, so we decided to look at schools in the Midwest or West Coast.

Explain your job title and some of your duties.

I’m a Professor of Kinesiology. My duties include making up lecture plans, teaching classes and also doing more student research. I’m also the assistant coach for the women’s basketball team.

Tell us about your family.

I have a husband and two dogs. My husband and I were married in February 2011 and we are expecting our first child.

What do you like best about SAU?

The thing I like best about SAU is that it’s a close-knit community. I really like the size of St. Ambrose and the mission here. I got here for my interview and I loved it. I like the staff and it seemed like it would be a good fit.

What are your goals to accomplish in your new position?

My goals are just to be a really good professor for my students and to keep my classroom open to new ideas and evolving with changing times and things of that nature.

Hobbies and Interests

I love all types of sports. I also love to travel, especially travel that includes sports. My husband and I went to the Olympics in London this past summer. I love to cook and try out new recipes (and it’s great when they turn out good!)

Advice for students

Be open with your professors; let them know what you’re thinking about their classes. Most are open to new ideas and how you’re feeling.

Leave a Reply

