Is it really time to leave SAU?

I’ve avoided writing this, my last Buzz story, much like I’ve avoided working on anything until the last minute. But this is different. It’s not my love, or addiction to procrastination that’s kept me from my computer, but fear. If I write this, then it’s real. I’m actually graduating from college.  There will be no more classes, no more books, and no more teachers. School’s not out for summer, but forever.

Because this is a goodbye, farewell article, forgive the cliché song lyrics. I figure they can say it better than I can.

So, here it goes.  My last article.

I transferred here from the University of Iowa my sophomore year, and it was the best decision I’ve ever made. Well, a close second to pre-ordering dominoes before going out, and then having it delivered at 2 am when the bars close.  That one was pure genius.  OK, sorry, back to the story. So, I fell in love with Ambrose my first week here. The campus was beautiful, my teachers were real people, not just nameless lecturers for 500 inattentive students, and I was really happy with my classes. Seems perfect right?  Cue the happily ever after.

I’m not trying to say there haven’t been hard times; all night study sessions, hunched over a computer through the night and practically crying when you realize the sun is coming back up, struggling to get everything done one time, or the dreaded 8 am classes. But all those things don’t seem so bad when I look back on them now. It’s all part of the “Ambrose Experience.”

What it comes right down to are the friends that were there to suffer with me. Those all-nighters I mentioned? What I remember most about them are the friends, and large amounts of coffee, next to me, both struggling to keep me awake and on task.  The impossible deadlines? Nope, I think of the other students sitting at the editors next to me, working for hours to produce a two minute package that only a few people outside the Ambrose community will see, or even care about. Dateline students know what I’m talking about. Readers if you don’t I’m sure they will be more than happy to tell you exactly how awesome it is.

This wouldn’t be a very good salute to my last three years here at Ambrose if I didn’t mention some of the teachers who, quite frankly, if it wasn’t for them I wouldn’t be getting my diploma in a few weeks. (Also, for a little last minute brown nosing, I still need in an A in Media Law).  I want to thank all the teachers in the political science department; Dr. Parsons, Dr. Kim, and Dr. Hebert. Political Science is my first major here at Ambrose, and these three made it especially memorable. I’ll never forget convincing Dr. Hebert to have his political thought class outside (a particular victory I’m very proud of, and the other students said it couldn’t be done), attending the Model UN Conference with Dr. Kim, and writing the biggest paper and conquering my fears of public speaking in Dr. Parsons PSCI 400 class.

I also want to thank the communications department, holed up in the basement of Galvin.  Duke and Matt, you guys helped me find my passion in broadcast, and taught me how to make my video look professional (white balance, tripod, rule of thirds, focus, check). Alan Sivell and Ann Preston, both of you taught me how to tell a story, a properly punctuated and well-planned story.

I think that’s it. It’s really over. In two more weeks I’ll walk across a stage, grab my diploma, smile for the camera as my mom cries, and just like that, no more Ambrose. If I could give some advice to those not graduating without sounding condescending, it would be to do as much as you possibly can while you’re here. I’ve tried to get involved with as much as I can, and while it felt like I was always trying to burn my candle at both ends, that’s when I really found out what I was made of. It is where my best memories came from.

I don’t know what the so called “real world” has in store for me, but ready or not here I come. I would love to tell you stay inside the lines, but there’s something better when you don’t. So, if you take anything from this editorial, it’s this; stay up late, take on more than you think you can handle, go out on a Wednesday, and find out what you’re passionate about, because before you know it, they’re going to be calling your name to come take your diploma.

Samantha Sass

Leave a comment