A big thanks to St. Ambrose University

“Endings are never easy; I always build them up so much in my head they can’t possibly live up to my expectations and I just end up disappointed. I’m not even sure why it matters to me so much how things end here, I guess it’s because we all want to believe that what we do is very important, that people hang onto our every word, that they care what we think. The truth is: you should consider yourself lucky if you even occasionally get to make someone, anyone, feel a little better. After that it’s all about the people that you let into your life…
And as my mind drifted to faces I’ve seen here before; I was taken to memories of family, of coworkers, of lost loves, even of those who’ve left us. As I rounded that corner, they all came at me in a wave of shared experience. And even though it felt warm and safe, I knew it had to end. It’s never good to live in the past too long. As for the future, thanks to Dan, it didn’t seem so scary anymore. It could be whatever I wanted it to be.” – John Michael Dorian

Yes, I took the easy way out and started my senior editorial with a quote. Big whoop, wanna fight about it? If you’ve gotten to know me, I could only hope you would expect nothing less from my last submitted writing for The Buzz. However, this isn’t done yet so don’t be surprised if a few more are thrown in.

I’m glad this is in writing and not on some award stage because I don’t need that cheesy orchestra music playing me off. I have a few people to thank and will take my sweet time doing so.

To my friends; I made connections here at SAU that I didn’t fathom were possible. Roommates, members of the communications department, and various other acquaintances that I’ve been fortunate enough to meet and call friends, thank you. You all have accepted my quirky, yet twisted sense of humor and I am nothing but appreciative of it. I didn’t have to change for you and that’s why we are friends. (No names necessary, you know who you are). If the nicknames I’ve gotten were paper appropriate, I’d share them for all, but it’s almost better they aren’t so they can stay between us. There are plenty of photos of the good times I’ve had, but the memories in my mind are more powerful and will last longer than any picture can. Thank you.

To the Buzz staff, past and present; thank you for the guidance and inspiration you’ve given me. I graduated high school thinking of going into the military. I went to community college with the idea of becoming a chef or baker. After my first article, everyone on the staff helped me realize that I chose the right career. As Steve Martin once said, “Some people have a way with words….some people….um….not have way, I guess.” I’m glad the Buzz staff helped me realize that I am one of those people.

To the professors that tolerated me and my silliness in class, thanks. I learned more from Dr. Preston, Duke, Matt, Ken, Jon and Dave than I thought was humanly possible. My brain power has increased immensely cause of all of you. Granted I may not use everything I was taught (I can’t think of a single theory off the top of my head, sorry Dr. Preston), I know when I need to, the theories and mechanics of all things communications related will pop in my head and help me with whatever I am working on. (Wait, I think Spiral of Silence is one, right?)

I don’t even know where to begin with Alan Sivell. One of my first memories at this school was after the first Buzz issue I was a part of came out, he pulled me aside and complimented my review of Rob Zombie’s H2, not because he was a fan of the film but because of how I wrote it. It wasn’t a stereotypical college review he said. I can list off a dozen other moments like this, but one is enough to paint the picture of Mr. Sivell. He’s attentive and dedicated to his students. He accepted my skewed view of the world as soon as he saw some of my writings and a unique relationship was founded from that. Thank you sir.

In the words of Buzz from Home Alone 2: Lost in New York, “Okay enough of this gooey sh… show of emotion.”

I feel I should mention monster trucks or something manly right now to make up for all of that. But alas, my mind and heart wander back to the memories I’ve had here and my eyes begin to expel a salty discharge. Only time will tell where I will go. Tony Bennet sang that he left his heart in San Fransisco, but that’s only because he didn’t go to school at St. Ambrose University.

Cheesiest. Ending. Ever.

Joseph Jarosz
Leave a Reply

