Students should ‘let it happen’

If Saint Augustine were here right now to give me advice about my ambiguous future after graduation, I’m sure he would tell me, “Patience is the companion of wisdom.” As graduation draws near, and I realize that I don’t have a clear plan as to what my career is going to be, I start to feel a tinge of anxiety come over me.

I think that anxiety is a result of what society has trained college students to feel when they don’t have everything figured out, especially after they’ve acquired a degree. I know I’ve been feeling it since my last semester began during my senior year. For the past three months, every time I would run into someone who I hadn’t seen in awhile, they’d ask me, “So, have you been sending out your resume?” and I would always reply with a simple, “Nope, not yet.”

That conversation would always leave me feeling as if I were behind, or lacking ambition in some way. You see, the problem is that I’m not sure what I want to do with my degree, or where I want to apply it. The questions I have are, “Is this truly a problem? Should I know this by the time I receive my diploma?”

I think Saint Augustine would tell me that the answer to both of those questions is “no” because once I accepted the fact that it’s okay for me to let life happen after graduation without a definite plan in place, I feel a sense of excitement and freedom. Instead of fearing the day that I would be released from the safe college bubble into the big and bad “real world,” I feel as though that day couldn’t come fast enough.

I believe that having patience will give me the clarity I need to focus on the things that inspire me. If I allow the pressure of trying to find something right now take control, I’m concerned that I might end up with a career that isn’t right for me. I made the decision to go to college so that I would be given the opportunity to one day choose a career path that makes me feel purposeful and motivated every single day. To those who don’t believe that’s possible, I’d say that they haven’t been patient enough to learn about themselves and what their passions are.

We are forced at the age of 18 to decide what we are going to study in college and essentially practice for the rest of our lives. I think it is completely unrealistic to make such a big decision at such a young age. Therefore, I think it’s important for young adults to expose themselves to as many new experiences as they possibly can because with every new situation comes a new chance for discovery and opportunity.

I’m not going to let my uncertainty about my future leave me feeling unsettled. Instead, I am going to embrace this journey and keep my mind open to the possibilities that lie within it. I challenge others who are in the same situation as me to do the same. I think we should take advice from those who have proven themselves to be wise.

As Benjamin Franklin once said, “He that can have patience can have what he will.”

Leave a Reply

